2015 is going to be EPIC

This is going to be a big friggin’ year.

I have a lot on my plate for 2015, which I suppose is fitting for a year divisible by five. Why? I don’t know. Am I the only one who thinks that–that years with fives and zeros are more momentous somehow? I graduated high school in ’95, and college in 2000, so that might have something to do with it. Or I just grew up in a base ten number system. Whatever.

The biggest of the big deals is, of course, my books, of which I have two coming out this year: The Devil’s Only Friend, which hits US shelves in June, and Bluescreen, which will arrive in December. The former is book four in the John Cleaver series, or as I prefer to think of it, book one in a new John Cleaver series. It’s just as creepy and bloody and sad as the others, so if you liked them you’ll love this one. Plus the manuscript gave my friend nightmares! Bluescreen, on the other hand, is completely new–the first of a new series that I’m planning to continue in perpetuity. The series is called Mirador, and I love it, and I will write Mirador books until my editor pulls the tablet from my dead hands and gently closes my eyes, whispering something soft and wise about the transitory nature of life and our capacity for human greatness. Mirador is a cyberpunk series about a group of teen girls hackers who play a video games on the pro circuit. I’ll be dropping a lot of hints about Bluescreen throughout the year, so I don’t want to spoil too much this early, but I figure I can tell you the main character’s name: Marisa Carneseca. Her family owns a restaurant in 2050 Los Angeles called San Juanito, and her best friend–well, I’ll stop there. Just trust me, it’s awesome.

Speaking of things I can’t tell you, remember that link I posted on twitter and facebook January 1? Yeah, I’m not allowed to say anything else about that for another couple of weeks, and probably shouldn’t have posted that link in the first place. Secretsssssss. Suffice it to say that if I WERE to say anything, it would be AWESOME, and you would really want to hear it. So maybe come to the Salt Lake City Fan Experience January 29-31? I’m just sayin’.

Now, how about some awesome news that I CAN tell you? Most of you know that my brother and I are both writers, but you might not know that we have a sister who’s just as talented, if not more so, and focuses her creative energy in theater. Sometime in 2013 she and I teamed up and started working on adapting my historical vampire comedy A Night of Blacker Darkness into a stage play. We’ve done a few drafts of the script, and we’re very happy with it, and the play will be debuting this October in not one but two locations: the world premiere will be at Tennessee Wesleyan College in Athens, where my brother-in-law runs the theater department, followed closely by a second production at UVU in Orem, Utah. Blacker Darkness is probably my least-known novel, because it’s self-published and I don’t promote it a ton, but it’s a classic farce, in the vein of “Noises Off” or “A Funny Thing Happened On the Way to the Forum,” and honestly it will probably feel more at home on stage than it ever did in a book. It’s also pretty dark, so I guess it’s in the vein of “Noises Off” except with actual veins, and instead of a plate of sardines there’s a corpse. Everyone wants to lie to, steal from, or outright kill everyone else, and it’s awesome. I’ll be giving more details as I get them, but mark your calendars now.

2015 will also see me traveling all over the place. My convention schedule is filling up like crazy–I can’t announce too much yet, because I don’t know exactly, but at the very least I can tell you about the Fan Experience and LTUE, this month and next month in Utah. Internationally, I’ll be in Leipzig in March and Buenos Aires in May, and if I can find a way to swing it I’ll visit Mexico and Toronto as well. September, of course, will be the third Writing Excuses Retreat, which this year will be on a cruise ship in the western Caribbean. You can totally come with me on that one–there are still plenty of slots open.

What else? I have some short fiction projects I’m working on, and another book (the infamous Extreme Makeover, which I’ve been teasing you with for years) that’s currently being reviewed by my editor, so I hope you’ll see that soon, but it won’t be this year. I know I’m in at least one horror anthology this year, but I don’t know when it’s coming out. And, of course, I’ll be hard at work on John Cleaver 5 and Mirador 2. And then there’s that space opera I’ve always wanted to do….

All in all, a big year. I hope you can join me for some of it.

10 Responses to “2015 is going to be EPIC”

  1. Frank says:

    Speaking of other genres: you know what I would totally buy? A book of Dan Wells poetry, maybe interspersed with Dan Wells commentary about other poetry.

  2. Karlene says:

    I loved a Night of Blacker Darkness. I was one of the lucky ones who got it when it first came out, and then it was pulled for awhile. And I live very close to UVU! I will definitely try to go see that. :)

  3. Peggy :) says:

    We have to wait even longer for Extreme Makeover?? Oh, that makes me so sad! Do you think if I write to your publishers that they’ll be quicker about getting your stuff out? 😉

    Looking forward to Devil’s Only Friend and Bluescreen. (I’m totally envious that Germany has Devil’s Only Friend already, but not really surprised.) Love your awesome books, keep ’em coming! 😀

  4. Sara says:

    Speaking of Night of Blacker Darkness, did you ever do anything with the recording we did at the retreat? I’d love to hear it again if you ever post it.
    I can’t wait until I can smugly sell The Devil’s Only Friend to people. It’s probably going to be a highlight of my year.

  5. John Brown says:

    Can’t wait to hear more about Mirador!

  6. Jillian says:

    Bluescreen sounds awesome! Can’t wait!

    I have a question about the WE retreat. How much feedback does a retreat-goer expect to receive on his or her writing (if that person didn’t get in the drawing for those one-on-one sessions)? Is this more of a thing where you listen to lectures and do the work, but don’t get any feedback? Or more of a thing where you do actually get feedback?

  7. admin says:

    Jillian, we’re striving to provide as much interaction as possible between teachers and students, but that won’t always manifest as us reading your work and giving feedback on it. More often we’ll be teaching general principles about how to write good fiction, and relying on you to apply them to your own work. We do it this way because we feel it’s more helpful: first, because we want to help everything you write, not just one story, and second, because we don’t know how to write your story nearly as well as you do. I know how *I* would change any given story, but your readers don’t want my changes, they want yours.

    Short version: even without direct feedback on a story you’ve written, the retreat will provide plenty of opportunities to chat about writing and plotting and character and so on, and we’ll do everything we can to make it as helpful as possible.

  8. Jillian says:

    Makes sense, thank you for the reply!

Leave a Reply